jump to navigation

Don’t mention the C word September 9, 2010

Posted by Admin in Blog.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Ok, so its 107 days until Christmas, or just over 15 weeks. 

It seems like a long way off but you just know it’ll soon be December and we’ll be panicking that we haven’t bought anything.

The thing that’s bothering me about Christmas this year is money, or rather the lack of it.  I’m not one for talking about finances but we moved house last December into, basically, a shell, and every spare penny (which isn’t much as I’m only working part-time) is spent on the house.

We’re currently saving for a new boiler which isn’t cheap, and we still need to carpet the living room and kitchen, get new worktops, hob, fire, and that’s just the big stuff.  You don’t really budget for the small things do you?  In our last house we spent over £100 just on new sockets in the kitchen!

So, my plan to try to make my Christmas spending as painless as possible is to buy at least one present a week between now and December, then when December comes I should have quite a few bits and won’t need to panic.  I’m certainly not doing what I did last Christmas and only having 2 presents sorted a week before the big day.  Not again!

So, my Christmas shopping has begun.  Yesterday I bought C a stocking filler, not much but it’s a start, and I’m trying to figure out what to buy people so I can source them on the internet at good prices.

How do you prepare for Christmas?  Are you an organised shopper with lists and budgets or more of a last-minute panic buyer?

If anyone has any tips for good websites, or any tips to ease the financial burden they’re all very welcome.

Comments»

1. MummyMatters - September 9, 2010

I’m a planner and always start my shopping as early as possible (a) to save on last minute stress and (b) to save money. Since having children I have found this easier too, especially when it comes to close relatives. If, like me, you’ve taken hundreds of photos of your little one you could create a photo album of their “first year” for grandparents, aunties, uncles etc. Yesterday I bought 2 really nice leather bound photo albums in Tesco which were originally £7 and had been reduced to £1.75 each. I have put them away for stocking fillers. Then sign up photo sites like snapfish, photobox etc which often have “first 50 prints free” and hey presto one present out of the way, even if it is just to “bulk” up a present. I also love shops like TK Maxx because you can find individual pieces which don’t cost the earth!

Good luck, happy shopping!

2. 14 weeks to go « Mummy Musings - September 20, 2010

[…] my bid to buy at least one present per week I’m now up to a grand total of 2 Christmas presents so I’ve managed my task for this […]

3. 14 weeks to go « Mummy Musings Mummy Musings - April 23, 2013

[…] my bid to buy at least one present per week I’m now up to a grand total of 2 Christmas presents so I’ve managed my task for this […]


Leave a Reply

