jump to navigation

Children & TV: Too much or too little? August 26, 2010

Posted by Admin in Blog.
Tags:
trackback

C very rarely watches TV.  At 14 months old I think this is a good thing. 

I don’t consciously not let her watch TV but I just don’t have it on during the day.  I’m more likely to have the radio or a CD on, occasionally I’ll have the music channels on the TV but only as background noise.

Will there come a time when she’s interested in TV programmes or not?  Theres no way I’m going to make her sit in front of the TV when she’d rather be building her blocks or playing outside but I don’t want her to start nursery ( I know that’s a while off yet but still!) and be ‘that weird kid’ who hasn’t got a clue what In The Night Garden is or who’s never heard of Thomas.

When I think back to my childhood, the TV programmes I watched were a big part of it as far as memories are concerned.  I loved Button Moon and Rainbow, as well as Thomas, Superted, He-man and many more!  M and I often get on YouTube and find old cartoons to watch that we remember from growing up.  I’m certain that our parents didn’t let us watch TV all day so its odd that we remember these programmes from our childhood so vividly.

Obviously, we all know too much television is a bad thing but can too little have a negative effect too, but in different ways?  Should I put the children’s channels on for a while when we’re at home or should I make the most of C not being interested?

Picture courtesy of:

Thomas & Friends

Comments»

1. TheMadHouse - August 26, 2010

I am all for TV in moderation, there is a time and a place for everything. I vet what the boys watch and we often watch it together, but I think this is something you need to make your own decidion on and there will be loads of differing opinions

2. Steve - August 26, 2010

I agree with TheMadHouse – moderation is key. H watched 30mins (night garden before bed) from around 7 months as it worked well to chill him out.

He watches a bit more now but generally, during the day we just don’t think about it. He loves shows like ‘grandpa in my pocket’ & ‘charlie & lola’. These are normally only around 10mins long so they’re easily limited.

We also don’t have a TV – all viewing is on laptops via iPlayer so it’s much easier to choose & less likely it’ll be left on.

I think it’s easy to worry about it too much, but it’s unlikely you’re just going to sit her down in front of it for hours as that’s not the kind of parent you are. Be selective with programmes but give her a choice.

TV is a part of adulthood and should therefore play a role in children’s lives. Use your instinct and you’ll do the right thing 🙂

3. Lynnepeet - August 26, 2010

I tend to Sky+ certain programmes for Liv to watch when I feel it is an appropriate time and so they can be watched in moderation. I let her watch Waybaloo and In The Night Garden, Big Barn Farm and Something Special (but only because I am an advocate of signalong the signing method they use on it). She ocassionally gets to watch Peppa Pig and Winnie the Pooh but only ocassionally.

I don’t think we as children watched too much TV because it was literally only on from 3.30pm until 5pm on a week day so we weren’t saturated in it like children are now. I couldn’t believe the other day that the Disney Channel was still broadcasting at 11pm at night!

If you’re looking for Button Moon, Camberwick Green, the Clangers and Bagpuss the Nick Jnr channel on Sky shows them late in the evening. I very often indulge in a little TV nostalgia after Liv has gone to bed.

4. MummyMatters - August 27, 2010

I was very much like you, only had the radio, CD or music channels on. Hence why at the age of 2 LB can instantly recognise Black Eyed Peas and dare I say, Lady Gaga (though not to look at!!!). She loves her music and loves to dance, which I love to so we have lots of fun.

However, I often kick myself as she now does watch CBeebies and I feel really embarrassed when she asks for the TV because I feel like I have turned her into a TV addict. She probably watches 1-2 hours a day but when I say “watch” I mean, the TV is on and she is playing in the same room. She doesn’t sit glued to the TV but she has picked up a LOT of vocabulary and good stuff from programmes like Something Special.

I think it needs to be in moderation and where possible, shared TV with you so that they get interraction from you.


Leave a Reply

